Exit Permit: Not the nightmare I thought it would be

POEA – Overseas Employment Certificate (OEC)

Overseas Employment Certificate

Overseas Employment Certificate

Now this is where it gets tricky my fellow Filipinos, you have to go to POEA to submit all of your documents and hopefully get the OEC in just a couple of days.

I’m only going to talk about the procedures for DIRECT HIRES/NAME HIRES so please do not ask me about others because I don’t have first-hand information regarding those and it will be irresponsible for me to answer them if I myself have not gone through them.

Here are the requirements you will need:

1.) Employment Contract (For Skilled and Professional Workers) **PLEASE READ NOTE BELOW REQUIREMENTS

For low-level workers, your contract must be verified by POLO or authenticated by the Philippine embassy/consulate.

2.) Valid Visa/entry/work permit/no objection certificate (NOC) or equivalent document

3.)Valid Passport

4.) Valid Medical Certificate from DOH-accredited medical clinic (There is an updated list at POEA so just take a look.)

5.) One 2×2 picture for the medical certificate

6.) Pre-departure Orientation Seminar (PDOS) certificate from POEA

ADDITIONAL DOCUMENTS:

For Canada bound workers: Labor Market Opinion Confirmation

For USA bound workers: Labor Condition Application

Fees:

US $100.00 (Php equivalent) – POEA Processing Fee
US $ 25.00  (Php equivalent) – OWWA Membership contribution (valid for 2 years)
Php  1200.00 – Philhealth-Medicate (1 year)
Php   100.00 – Pag-ibig membership (I didn’t have one when I applied so I paid for this, I’m not sure if you still have to pay if you already have Pag-ibig memberhsip.)

Okay. So, before you even head over to POEA, make sure you have everything.

**If it is not specified in your contract that your employer will repatriate your remains when you die, POEA will require you to have your employer sign an employer compliance form (though you can submit a scanned one) so I suggest you ask them to include that beforehand so you don’t have to go back and forth.

As for the medical exam, there are several clinics near POEA so I suggest going there after submitting your documents for evaluation.

ALSO one more important thing. MAKE SURE you have the company profile of your employer. They don’t include this in the official requirements but they do ask for it and you won’t be able to complete your application without it. I had to email my employer an hour before POEA closed, asking to send my the company profile asap…which is not really good for your nerves haha! It was a good thing my employer was able read my email immediately and was able to send me the company profile.

Anyway I was able to catch up before they closed and got my OEC. The whole process took me 2 business days. You can probably finish everything in 1 day if you have all the requirements and if you were able to attend the PDOS seminar in the afternoon. For Europe/North America I think the seminar usually starts at 8am and for Asia, 1pm.

When you arrive at the airport, make sure you head over to the OFW counter and get your OEC validated. You are now exempted from travel tax and terminal fees at the airport. 8D

6 thoughts on “Exit Permit: Not the nightmare I thought it would be

  1. Hi! i found your blog and its really informative! I hope this will also help me in the procedures I have to take before I can depart. But first, I have a question. Was the employment contract given to you in Japanese? or in English? if it was in Japanese, did POEA request for an English version of the contract?? Im still waiting for my COE though, so I thought i should study the procedures beforehand.

    • Hi Alvin! It was sent to me in English. However if yours is in Japanese, they will most probably ask you to translate it in English. They pretty much want to check all the clauses of your contract, “to make sure” that ofws aren’t being taken advantage of. ;P

      Hope that helps!

      • Hi again! I was wondering, did you have to get an nbi clearance? I havent seen it so far in the list of documents needed. Hmmm

      • Hi Alvin! Although it isn’t in Japan’s requirements, if you leave the Philippines with a working visa, they will ask for the exit permit no matter which country you are going to. They don’t actually ask for it when you arrive in Japan, so it sucks to go through all that trouble, but if you don’t get it you won’t be able to pass through Philippine immigration.

  2. Hi! I’m sort of confused bout the part with the medical certificate. Do i go for a medical checkup first then go to poea? Or submit my documents first then go for a medical checkup?

    • You have to have your Medical certificate ready when you pass all your documents, so I suggest going to one before heading there. However, be sure it’s a clinic that’s in POEA’s updated list.

      There are clinics right next to POEA though, and they can usually give you the results and the medical certificate within the day.

      Hope that helps.

Leave a Reply

